Mari Taggart is a junior at York College of Pennsylvania, where she majors in Hospitality Management with a marketing minor. She is from the Phi Eta chapter of Phi Mu and holds the position of Treasurer in the chapter.

Orientation Coordinators 2016
Orientation Coordinators 2016

On campus, besides serving in Phi Mu, she is in Student Senate as a Junior Senator, she is a part of the Orientation Staff as an Orientation Coordinator, a member of the Campus Activities Board, a member of the Hospitality Society, and a Desk Assistant for the Manor Complex.

With her role as an Orientation Coordinator, Mari works with the orientation team to plan summer and fall orientation, along with training her peer leaders. Mari tells us about her experience as an OC, “I became an OC because I am extremely passionate about guiding new students into their experience at YCP! Being OCs [with two other Greeks] has brought another level of unity between us, and I know I can count on them with not only orientation, but Greek Life activities as well.”

Mari was able to attend the 2016 Phi Mu Officer Academy this past February. This training, held in Georgia with Phi Mu National Headquarters, allowed her to learn how to properly execute her position as treasurer. She learned how to become a better leader to the best of her abilities and to help her chapter run more efficiently. Mari says, “Greek life has allowed me to be part of a family and become a leader on our campus. It has given me to confidence to believe in both myself and my organizations and build critical thinking skills and time management. It’s also allowed me to find my very best friends and a group of people I know I can count on”.

Phi Mu sorority at officer academy
Phi Mu sorority at officer academy

Green logo

If you would like to be our next featured student, email us at greeklifeycp@gmail.com

 

