Chelsea Lovell is a junior Early Childhood Education major at YCP. She is part of the Gamma Iota chapter of Alpha Sigma Tau, serving as the Vice President of Organization Development.

Alpha Sigma Tau
Chelsea (second from left) and other sisters of Alpha Sigma Tau

This semester Chelsea is also the New Member Educator. She was the Illuminate class facilitator for a year.  On campus, Chelsea is a Greek Life Ambassador, an Orientation Leader, a member of the Student Education Association, and also a member of Habitat for Humanity.

Chelsea (left) with two other sisters of Alpha Sigma Tau working with Habitat for Humanity.

Last semester Chelsea got the chance to go to Fort Lauderdale, Florida for Habitat for Humanity, which is Alpha Sigma Tau’s national service projects. Chelsea went with four other of her sisters. Chelsea says, “being able to help build homes for people who truly need them and need that help was life changing. Being able to make such an impact with three of my sisters made it even more memorable. We spent four days up on a hot roof. Not going to lie we complained about the heat a little, but it was worth it. One of the families that we were building houses for even stopped by at the place we were staying and told us how much they appreciated every thing we’ve done for them. Seeing who we were helping in person and getting to know them made it so much more real. I was able to explore Florida, spend time with sisters and make new friends, and build a home for multiple families. Those few days have made more of an impact on my life than I thought it would and I would 100% do it again.”

Alpha Sigma Tau
Chelsea (middle) and other students volunteering for Spartan Service Day.

Chelsea says “Greek Life has effected me only in positive ways. I get to spend 90% of my time with a great group of women who encourage me and inspire me everyday. Being in this organization means having so many opportunities to fund raise for great causes, and also get out in the world and be able to make positive changes hands on which has made such a positive impact on me as a person. Greek life has opened many doors that I didn’t even know existed. I’ve become more involved on campus and have the best group of friends. I’ve also become close to sisters and brothers in the other Greek life organizations that I would have never met if it wasn’t for joining Alpha Sigma Tau.” Chelsea’s involvement in Habitat for Humanity and Alpha Sigma Tau have made a positive impact on her time at YCP and will continue to influence her life after she graduates.

Green logoIf you would like to be our next featured story, email greeklifeycp@gmail.com
