Heidi Lineweaver is a senior at YCP and is double majoring in  Public Relations and Mass Communications. She also has three minors in Marketing, Speech Communication, and Visual Communication. She is from the Phi Eta Chapter of Phi Mu and was the past Philanthropy chair.

Heidi has been on the Dean’s List for four semesters and is in the Lambda Pi Eta National Communication Honors Society. She was also recently inducted into Order of Omega, the National Greek Honors Society.

14729215_10155235549233368_8116997481859648682_n
Heidi (middle) and members of the Panhellenic Council.

Besides Phi Mu, Heidi serves as the President of the Panhellenic Council (CPH), the sorority governing board.

Heidi says that her sorority experience has given her opportunities and friendships that she wouldn’t have had if she didn’t “Go Greek.” After joining Phi Mu, she was elected into the Social Media/PR position. She says, “Right off the bat, I was able to hold a position that gave me opportunities to further my experience for my major. I was then elected onto the executive board as Philanthropy Chairman. During this position, I was able to work closely with other on campus and off campus organizations and companies to make events thrive. I learned how important networking is and how to better communicate with people.”

13002537_10209406981710307_8800927406452821488_o
Phi Mu at recruitment, Spring 2016

Heidi stated that one of the greatest experiences she was able to have within Phi Mu was when she was given the opportunity to go to the Phi Mu Leadership Institute in Illinois during June 2015. While she attended the Leadership program she learned all abut skill building. Her favorite part was was that she was able to meet sisters from all around the country.

When it comes to Greek Life at YCP, Heidi says, “Greek life has also given me the opportunity to meet so many people. I am proud to say that I have friends in each organization. I think that’s one of the best parts about YCP Greek life- there’s no tension between the organizations on campus. We’re all a big family, and we are always supporting each other. It’s such a great feeling knowing that I have so many people surrounding me.”

12310699_1184902841538223_5824833453680411970_n
Heidi (middle) & sisters at the Lambda Pi Eta induction

Being a senior, Heidi knows hat she’ll have to find a job after graduation. The benefits of Greek Life don’t just stop at college. Heidi explained that Greek Life taught her how to network, “I’ve heard about many job and internship opportunities through my alumnae. It also helps to leave college having real leadership experience. Whether that be holding a position within my chapter or Panhellenic, I can say that I’ve done a lot during my time in school.”

Heidi said she is honored to be representing Greek Life at YCP,  “It’s been such a great opportunity working with my [peers]… I do not take that for granted, and I am so humbled to have this position.”

Green logo

 

If you would like to be our next featured student, email us at greeklifeycp@gmail.com

