Claire Alexander is a junior Mass Communication Major at York College of PA with a Theatre minor. She is from the Alpha Lambda chapter of Delta Phi Epsilon. Claire is a part of the YCP Theatre division and serves as an Orientation Coordinator (OC), having been promoted to OC after being a Orientation Leader for two years. She has also been involved with intramurals and the WVYC radio show.

12240327_1252337778117072_6066505036752156195_o
Claire preforming as Abigail in Abigail/1702

In the past she has played many lead roles in different plays.  Her first semester as a freshman she was cast as Sister Aloysius Beauvier in Doubt: A Parable which in her words, “was a huge honor because Maryl Streep played the same role”. She also played the role of Abigail Williams in Abigail/1702. And most recently, she played a variety of different characters in Story Theatre, a collection of folk tale plays.

When it came to Greek Life, Claire noted that it had definitely impacted her years here at YCP. “I originally joined because I love being active on campus, but I gained so much more. DPhiE is my biggest support system- whether I’m taking a test or the lead in a play, I know my sisters are cheering for me whatever I do. Being a member of my sorority has also given me so many great role models that I constantly look up to who make me want to become the best person I can.”

clkako9wkaajnvm
Orientation Leaders that are also members of Greek Life

She also noted that one of the more important aspects of being in a sorority for her was the ability to serve her community more. “It has also made an easy outlet for me to participate in more community service, I spent many hours last semester delivering Meals On Wheels with sisters. I also love the Greek unity we have here; having friends in other organizations is awesome because we all share the same interests and it makes the York College community feel closer.”14611044_1094465330638821_8491142288066165542_n

As a new Orientation Coordinator, Claire explained that is has brought  more opportunities for her to exercise her responsibility.

 

“We have already begun planning Orientation for the fall and we also have the duty of training Orientation Leaders but it is a lot of fun. After being an Orientation Leader for two years I was excited to take the next step and see what more I could do for the program and I am happy that I have already been able to do a lot just this year. Being an Orientation Leader has been one of my favorite experiences at York College, there is nothing more rewarding than helping new students find their home.”

Delta Phi Epsilon at Ugly Sweater Dodgeball

Since there are many members of Greek Life in the Orientation team, Claire has the unique job of working with them. She said, “It is great to work with other Greek OCs, like I mentioned earlier, its cool because we are already friends through Greek life so we get along really well. We are also great at bouncing ideas off one another and I think its going to make orientation awesome this coming year.” We cannot wait for Orientation to come around and to meet our new Spartans!

Green logo

If you would like to be our next featured student, email us at Greeklifeycp@gmail.com

