Joe Carbone is a Computer Information Systems major with a Music Industry minor at York College of Pennsylvania. Joe is a brother of the Omicron Upsilon Chapter of Tau Kappa Epsilon and serves as the New Member Educator this spring. In addition to his chapter, Joe is also the Vice President of Programming of the Interfraternity Council. On campus, besides being involved with fraternity life, Joe is a Help Desk Student Worker where he works as the Network Infrastructure Team Intern.

IFC
Members of IFC at Putts for Mutts charity event

Joe stated that being in Greek Life allowed him to increase his leadership skills, develop a work ethic, and build time management skills that he said would be needed in his future career. “The brothers I have made in Tau Kappa Epsilon at York College are some of my best friends, and I can honestly say that my pledge brothers will be in my wedding some day. Most people don’t believe it unless they see it, but it truly is the fraternity for Life.”

Joe was able to attend the Northeast Greek Leadership Association Annual Conference over winter break with fellow YCP students. Joe had this to say about his time at NGLA, “my experience at NGLA gave me a professional environment in which I could improve my networking skills with members of my national fraternity as well as members of other national and local fraternities and sororities.”

IMG_0534
York College Greek Life attending the NGLA conference.

He mentioned that he was able to learn how to deal with conflict that might happen within an organization and how to see it from a bigger picture. “I learned a lot about how to deal with conflict within an organization, how to step back, see the conflict from all points of view and to not let emotion or fear interfere with a decision that could affect the greater good of the organization. Meeting members of Greek Life from all around the Northeast allowed me to compare my chapter’s operations to other organization’s, learn new ideas that I could bring to my chapter, as well as give other organizations ideas to bring back to their chapter.”

Joe’s chapter, recently held their 40th anniversary on campus this March. The chapter held an alumni BBQ event and invited back all their alumni.

TKE_BBQ_1
Alumni and current brothers of TKE celebrating their 40th anniversary.

Joe said, “This event was a lot of fun and a great experience for all active and alumni members, many great memories were shared and many more were made. The experience was one I will never forget, can’t wait to come back for the 50th!”

 

If you would like to be our next featured student, email us at Greeklifeycp@gmail.com

