Meg Fritz is a junior Recreation and Leisure Administration major with a focus in Therapy at YCP. She is from the Phi Eta Chapter of Phi Mu and is the President for the 2017 term. In addition to being in Phi Mu, Megan is also Resident Assistant (RA) on campus and an active member of the Recreation and Leisure Student Association.

15326197_1328687417163729_3005722865679722355_o
Phi Mu’s past President (right) and Megan, the new President (left)

Megan was recently awarded the 2016-2017 “President of the Year” award during the Greek Excellence Awards ceremony in April. Sisters who nominated Megan said she is successful at balancing her commitments and always makes time for her sisters. In addition to that, she is always positive and friendly to be around. On top of Megan winning one of the most prestigious awards on campus, Phi Mu was also awarded the first ever “Chapter of the Year” award. The awards committee was impressed with the chapter’s service work, campus involvement, and cultural awareness.

Megan, President of the Year, and Heidi Lineweaver, Sorority Woman of the Year

 

One thing that makes Megan’s experience unique on campus is that the same semester she became a sister of Phi Mu, she also was elected onto the Executive Board.  Megan joined in the Fall of 2015 which is the same semester that elections were being held. Megan says that, “being a new member and being elected on to Executive Board that same semester was scary and overwhelming at first but by far the most rewarding decisions I have ever made. Becoming an Executive Board member made me push myself to be the absolute best I could  be so that I could effectively serve our sisterhood.”

12244303_1038855812813559_2477252184081584073_o.jpg
Megan (top) with her Big and Grandbig.

 

During her year on the Executive Board she says that she learned a lot about what it meant to be a leader. “I strive to be someone that my sisters can count on and look up to. I am beyond honored to have been elected as the next president of our chapter. This is not something that I would have imagined for myself when I first became a sister but so grateful that my time on the Executive Board and many sisters encouragement me lead me to now.”

 

Whe14021528_1224245787607893_8572603990659372495_nn asked about how Greek Life has affected her experience on campus, Megan said, “Greek Life has given me a sense of purpose on campus. It has provided so many opportunities for me to grow as a person and as a leader.” Megan says that she is humbled by everyone’s support and is excited to serve her chapter and the Greek Life Community for the upcoming year. It’s clear that the community is just as excited about the hard work she has put in not only for the community but her sorority as well.

 

Green logoIf you would like to be the next featured student, email us at Greeklifeycp@gmail.com

